Latest News

The Harrison Humanitarian Award

Mission Statement:

The Walter E. Harrison, Jr. Humanitarian Award was established by Colquitt Regional Medical Foundation to annually recognize an individual healthcare worker who demonstrates a commitment to compassionate health care service and community outreach, which was the guiding principle of Walter E. Harrison’s medical career.

This award was established soon after the death of Dr. Harrison in December of 2010. Dr. Harrison believed in helping those in need. He practiced the belief both at home and in medical missions abroad.


Colquitt Regional Medical Foundation will establish an advisory board that will annually advise, nominate and selects the recipient of the calendar year. The board will include the Foundation chairman, president, one member of Dr. Harrison’s family, one physician from the medical staff of Colquitt Regional Medical Center and one community leader.


The nominator will complete the nomination form describing the contributions made by the nominee that qualify them for consideration for this award.


The restricted fund was set up by Colquitt Regional Medical Foundation for the Walter E. Harrison Jr. Humanitarian Award to pay for expenses to present this award each year. An anonymous donor made a generous contribution to fund this award in the memory of Dr. Harrison.

Only one award will be made annually.


2020 Tamara Johnson, M,D.

2019 Billy R. Price, M.D.

2018 David Spence, RT (R,ARRT)

2017 Karen G. Hart, RN, CMSRN

2016 Barbara James, RN

2015 D.W.Adcock, M.D.

2014 Patricia Lee June, M.D.

2013 Denise Linnenkohl, RN

2012 * Seth Berl, M.D.
*First year

Nominations are accepted yearly. If you would like to nominate someone for the Harrison Humanitarian Award, fill out the form below.