Colquitt Regional Medical Center Wins Statewide Patient Safety Award

Colquitt Regional Medical Center recently announced it was the recipient of the prestigious Patient Safety and Quality Award, given by the Georgia Hospital Association (GHA). The project, “CAUTI – The Journey to Zero,” won first place in the Hospitals with Less than 100 beds category.

The GHA annual awards presentation recognizes Georgia health care organizations for achievement in reducing the risk of medical errors and improving patient safety and medical outcomes.

“We are pleased to honor Colquitt Regional Medical Center for their innovative approach to improving patient safety,” said Georgia Hospital Association President and CEO Caylee Noggle. “Their efforts have improved the health and wellness of the community, and we thank them for their important work in this area.”

The “CAUTI – The Journey to Zero” project was pursued to help reduce the number of CAUTI (catheter-associated urinary tract infection) cases within the hospital. A task force was assembled, and the team implemented a care protocol. This consisted of ongoing education, training, and collaboration over the course of the project’s timeline to ensure its effectiveness and sustainability.

“Patient safety is always our top priority at Colquitt Regional,” said Colquitt Regional President and CEO Jim Matney. “We regularly evaluate our processes and protocols to ensure that each patient receives the best, safest care possible. This task force worked diligently to create and employ their action plan and the results have been outstanding.”

Through this project, Colquitt Regional was able to reach its goal of decreasing its CAUTI incidences to zero in 2023. The task force continues to promote CAUTI awareness by requiring yearly education for employees who work in patient care.

“Receiving this prestigious award from GHA is a testament to this team’s efforts and the hospital’s overall commitment to exceptional care,” said Hospital Authority Chairman Richard E. Turner, Jr. “I am always impressed by the level of dedication of all our employees, and it is great to have their hard work recognized at the state level.”

The CAUTI task force is a multidisciplinary team including: Dena Zinker, MSN, RN, NE-BC, FACHE, Vice President of Patient Services and Chief Nursing Officer, Renee Ellenberg, BSN, RN, CMSRN, Director of Intensive Care Unit and Progressive Care Unit, Melanie Owens, MBA, BSN, RN, CJCP, Vice President of Quality Assurance, Scott Price, Director of Second Floor, Lindy Sanderson, MSN, RN, CMSRN, Assistant Director of Quality Assurance, Dr. Witemba Kabange, Hospital Medicine Physician, Ashley McDaniel, MSN, RN, CIC, Infection Preventionist, Dr. Joseph Beavers, Hospital Medicine Physician, Toni Riddle, Assistant Vice President of Nursing and Director of Nursing, Jim Matney, President and CEO, Dr. Michael Brown, Chief Medical Officer and Pulmonary and Critical Care Physician, Karen Hart, RN, Director of Fourth Floor, Jacob Boyd, Programmer Analyst, Jacob Calloway, Materials Management, and Edie Brunty, Clinical Informaticist.

 For more information on this award, please contact the Colquitt Regional marketing department at 229-890-3552.