Colquitt Regional Presents 2024 Healthcare Scholarships and Grants

Colquitt Regional recently awarded the recipients of its healthcare scholarships at the eighth annual Colquitt Regional Medical Foundation Scholarship Luncheon.

On May 16, Colquitt Regional honored 22 recipients at the Ameris Bank Medical Education Center at Colquitt Regional Medical Center. The total amount given to those recipients through scholarships and grants exceeded $63,000.

“We look forward to this event every year,” said Colquitt Regional President and CEO Jim Matney. “It is always inspiring to present these scholarships to students who are working towards their future careers in healthcare and our employees who are committed to furthering their education and skillsets.”

Since 1982, the Hospital Authority Board of Trustees began providing an annual $5,000 scholarship to a citizen of Colquitt County pursuing a healthcare career. This scholarship is given in honor of an outstanding individual who has made a lasting impact in the healthcare field and in the community. The Hospital Authority named Kirk Friedlander as this year’s honoree.

Friedlander was appointed to the Hospital Authority of Colquitt County in 2004 and served two consecutive terms, with 18 years of service total. He has been essential in recruitment of physicians to the medical staff and many Colquitt Regional projects, most notably the 2014 major expansion and the establishment of the Georgia South Family Medicine Residency program.

The 2024 Hospital Authority Trustee Scholarship was presented to Hayden Roberts. Roberts is a Colquitt County native and is in the nursing program at Valdosta State University. She plans to graduate as a registered nurse in December of 2025 and hopes to establish a career at Colquitt Regional in obstetrics or pediatrics.

The Colquitt Regional Medical Foundation awarded four donor scholarships at $5,000 each. The Diane and Jim Lowry Scholarship, named after its donors, was presented to Jacob Calloway. Calloway has been an employee of Colquitt Regional since 2010 and works in the purchasing department. He is currently studying supply chain and operations management at Western Governors University.

In addition, the Lowry’s extended their scholarship dollars through the Foundation to fund The Diane and Jim Lowry Colquitt County High School Scholarship and a Lowry ROTC Scholarship, both $1,000 each. Cam Cook and Michael Marshall, respectively, were named and recognized as the recipients of these scholarships. Cook is a graduating senior from Colquitt County High School and plans to pursue a degree in engineering from Kennesaw State University. Marshall is a graduating ROTC student from Colquitt County High School and will be attending Savannah State University to pursue a degree in computer science.

The Jane and Sam Perry Scholarship, given by the Brooks Sheldon family in memory of his parents, was awarded to Jessi Wilson, RN. Wilson works in the ICU and has been with the organization since 2018. She has her Associate of Science degree in Nursing and is actively pursuing her Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing from South University.

The Anne and Monty Carlton Family Scholarship, given by the Carlton family, was presented to Lei-Ann Barnes, BSRT(R)(T). Barnes has held a career in healthcare for 20 years and joined Colquitt Regional three years ago as a radiation therapist in the radiation oncology unit at Edwards Cancer Center. She is currently pursuing an MBA in health management from Western Governors University.

The Doris Spry and Laverne Nash Scholarship, given by Debbie and Dr. Robert Brown, was presented to Alyssa Spangler. She is a participant in the nurse extern program at Colquitt Regional and is actively pursuing her Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree from Valdosta State University.

Six students were chosen for the Colquitt Regional Employee Committee Scholarship. To be eligible, the recipient must be a graduating senior who is also a dependent of a Colquitt Regional employee. This year, a $1,500 scholarship was awarded to Grace Costin, Charmaine Dauphin, Caleb Pezent, Antron Tucker, Hogan Watson, and Naya Williams.

Each year, the Colquitt Regional Volunteers award the Rev. J.E. Moak Memorial Scholarship, and it is given to a graduating senior of Colquitt County with plans to pursue a career in healthcare. The 2024 recipients include Grace Costin, Lily Tillman, and Jaina Turner.

The Kate Jeter Scholarship is worth $2,000 and is given by Rosalind and Jimmy Jeter in memory of their daughter, Kate Majors Jeter. Each year, The Jeters select multiple graduates from Colquitt County High School who demonstrate good grades and plans to continue their education. The 2024 recipients are Ava Brooks, Cam Cook, Grace Costin, Quince McCloud, Cayden Parker, and Nyla Thompson.

Colquitt Regional also presented Teacher Partnership Grant to 13 educators in Colquitt County.

Tammy Maxwell of Colquitt Co. High School and Shakeiyaih Green-Nelson of CA Gray Jr. High School received grants of up to $2500 to fund their classroom projects. Grants of up to $1000 were given to Sarah Thomason (Doerun Elementary School), Debra Taylor (Funston Elementary School), Lisa Duncan (GEAR), Justin McDowell (Hamilton Elementary School), Brittany Beck (Norman Park Elementary School), Megan Baker (Odom Elementary School), Haley Hagin and Kathryn Simpson (Okapilco Elementary School), Jennifer Partain (Stringfellow Elementary School), Tina Zeigler (Sunset Elementary School), and Kelly Coyle (Colquitt Christian Academy).

“Several years ago, we decided that not only was it important for us to support our students and employees, but also the teachers in Colquitt County who dedicate themselves to educating our children,” said Hospital Authority Chairman Richard E. Turner, Jr. “Through these grants, teachers will be able to provide learning activities and projects that go beyond the standard curriculum in the subjects that are crucial to healthcare, such as science and math.”

For more information on Colquitt Regional healthcare scholarships, please contact the Colquitt Regional Medical Foundation at 229-890-3416.